Cooking up a Magento 2
Extension – Testing 5 Ways

register now

June 2017

Presented by Kristof Ringleff (@foomanNZ)

Date: June 20, 2017
Time: 20:00 CDT

18:00 PDT, 3:00 CEST (June 21), 2:00 BST (June 21)
Not sure of the time in your area? Check it on timeanddate.com

Get an exclusive look behind the scenes into the Fooman extension kitchen, and discover the automated tests that help me write better code. You’ve heard it before – automated testing is easier than ever with Magento 2. Writing tests now will save you time and money later, and reduce the maintenance burden of extensions (which is basically a developer’s dream). But testing has a reputation for being complicated and it can be hard to know where to start.

It starts with choosing the right ingredients. This isn’t a one size fits all, ‘write tests for everything, 100% all of the time’ lecture. We’re going to get super real about which tests actually help, when to use different test types, and what to implement first.

Together we’ll cook up an example Magento 2 extension, looking at the relative effort and benefits of the following tests:

  • Static Tests
  • PhpUnit Tests
  • PhpSpec Tests
  • Integration Tests
  • Functional Tests

Whether you code Magento 2 sites or develop extensions, it’s easier to get started with automated tests than you might think.

Kristof Ringleff

Kristof Ringleff

Kristof is the extension guy behind Fooman (www.fooman.co.nz) and a 2x Magento Master (2016 and 2017). A computer engineer from Germany who’s made New Zealand his home, nothing makes Kristof happier than solving problems with code. He’s a trusted expert on all things Magento and regular guest speaker at Magento events.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>