Monitoring (and improving) Your Full Page Cache Hit Rate with Enterprise_PageCache

August 2016

Presented by Max Chadwick (@maxpchadwick)

Date: August 16, 2016
Time: 20:00 CDT

18:00 PDT, 3:00 CEST (Aug 17), 2:00 BST (Aug 17)
Not sure of the time in your area? Check it on timeanddate.com

Full Page Cache is one of the most important features in Magento Enterprise. When Magento is able to respond from cache, time to first byte is typically less than 0.05 seconds! Obviously we want that to happen as often as possible. However, in the real world many factors can be at odds with that goal.

In this talk we’ll take a dive deep into the Enterprise_PageCache source code to investigate how Full Page Cache works. Then, we’ll review how and why you should monitor your FPC hit rate. Finally we’ll discuss some practical and actionable tactics you can employ to immediately improve your hit rate.

Holiday season 2016 is just around the corner and investing the time now to understand and improve your FPC hit rate is one of the most important steps you can take to prepare.

This meeting is over, but you can still purchase the video.

Purchase Video

Max Chadwick

Max Chadwick

Max is a self-taught PHP developer who got his start building WordPress sites in 2011. In 2014 he joined Something Digital and began working as a Magento developer. Today, he oversees ongoing operations and site performance for Something Digital’s client Rite Aid, a fortune 500 company and winner of the growth award at Imagine 2016.

Max is passionate about contributing back to open-source projects. Technical topics that interest Max include time series databases and visualization tools, profiling and performance optimization and load testing / traffic simulations. He graduated with a degree in Music Technology from Northeastern University and enjoys playing the drums in his free time.

This meeting is over but you can purchase the video.

Buy the video

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>